To be considered for a Cleveland Arts Prize applications must be completed in full and submitted before the noted deadline, May 1st, 2024. 

Past CAP recipients are not eligible to apply for a prize under the same discipline. They may apply under a different discipline category.

Discipline prizes are solely based on the artistic product. They are only awarded to living artists. 

Applications must show a connection or contribution to the Northeast Ohio region. This may be shown through current or previous residency, extensive education in area schools, universities, or having close and continuing affiliations with the area as evidenced by frequent local exhibitions, commissions, or otherwise demonstrated. 

Discipline awards are application based only. If you would like to nominate an artist please complete this form. Your nominee will be notified of the and sent the link to complete the application. Nominations do not have an effect on their application and are not seen by the jurors. Nominations must be submitted by April 1st in order to give the nominee adequate time to complete the application. 

Discipline Prize Criteria:

A body of original work that consistently exemplifies the highest level of artistic excellence as shown by but not limited to:

  • Mastery of traditional skill and willingness to challenge status quo

  • Awareness and/or acknowledgment of contemporary and/or changing schools of thought respective to discipline

  • High level of continuity between artist statement and work 

  • Regional, national and/or international recognition*

  • Contributions to the canon of knowledge that will endure beyond the artist's life* 

*These criteria will be assessed relative to career level.

Applicants will be placed into career levels based on the following requirements:

Emerging Artist Award: Candidate is currently living in Northeast Ohio and has created significant work or projects and shows remarkable promise for further development of their artistic careers.

Mid-Career Artist Award: Candidate is currently residing or has previously resided in Northeast Ohio and whose work has received both regional and national recognition.

Lifetime Achievement Award: Candidate has worked in Northeast Ohio over a period of decades and whose artistic achievements have brought distinction to the artist individually and to the region as a whole.

Special Prize Guidelines:

Special Prize candidates are considered through nomination only. The nominator is responsible for soliciting no more than 5 letters of support in favor of the nominee.

The submission of support letters is the responsibility of the nominator. Nominations without support letters will not be considered. The nominator for a special prize candidate may suggest a specific award their candidate is best suited for, but the Cleveland Arts Prize Jury will make the final decision as to which Prize is awarded. Special Prize nominees are not notified of their nomination.

Determination of Winners

Cleveland Arts Prize Discipline and Special Prize Winners are selected through a jury process. The jurors are artists, community leaders, and past winners, who serve no more than three consecutive years. Their decision will be final.

Jurors will be announced during the submission period.

Arts Prize Discipline and Special Prize Winners will be announced on or around August 1.





HONORS & AWARDS DISCIPLINE PRIZES VISUAL ARTS | MUSIC | LITERATURE | DESIGN | THEATRE & DANCE Emerging Artist Award ($10,000) Emerging prizes are awarded to artists currently living in Northeast Ohio who show remarkable promise and have created significant work or projects. Mid-Career Artist Award ($10,000) Two Mid-career prizes are awarded to artists who have received national recognition in addition to regional and local acclaim and have resided in Northeast Ohio. Lifetime Achievement Award ($10,000) The Lifetime achievement prize is awarded to an artist who has worked in Northeast Ohio over several decades and whose career and achievements have brought great distinction to themselves and the region.



Robert P. Bergman Prize

The Robert P. Bergman Prize is awarded to an individual whose life and work are illuminated by an energetic and inspiring dedication to a democratic vision of art. The Bergman Prize recognizes the highest possible expression of art stewardship through long term commitment.









Martha Joseph Prize for Distinguished Service to the Arts

The Martha Joseph Prize is awarded to an individual or an organization that have made a significant contribution to the vitality and stature of the arts in northeast Ohio through exceptional commitment, vision, leadership, and/or philanthropy.






Barbara S. Robinson Prize for the Advancement of the Arts

The Barbara S. Robinson Prize is awarded to an individual or organization for extraordinary commitment to the advancement of the arts through leadership in policy, legislation, arts education and community development.



For technical issues please visit: